Certificate for Music Educators

Available in the UK, the Trinity Level 4 Certificate for Music Educators (Trinity CME) is designed for music educators whether you teach children or adults, beginners or advanced students. It’s supported by a flexible programme of learning and is offered by a network of Trinity CME centres.

Why was it developed?

The Trinity CME was developed for the following reasons:

  • to recognise the work of music educators
  • provide music educators with opportunities to develop their practice.

Who’s it for?

The Trinity CME is suitable for anyone who works as a music educator including:

  • instrumental and vocal teachers
  • early years and primary teachers
  • community musicians and workshop leaders
  • professional musicians who undertake education work

What does it include?

The Trinity CME assesses learners in:

  • understanding how music is learnt
  • planning, facilitating and evaluating their learning
  • reflective practice and professional development
  • promoting students' positive behaviour
  • equality, diversity and inclusion
  • safeguarding

Study for the Trinity CME

The Trinity CME is available through approved centres that offer complete programmes of training and assessment. Centres currently include music education hubs, music services, specialist subject associations and other training providers.

How does it work?

Each learner completes an initial self-assessment to map their prior knowledge and experience against the six units of the Trinity CME. From this starting point, the centre works with the learner to develop and agree a personal action plan, setting out any training and support that will be required to enable the learner to meet the assessment criteria across all six units. Assessment is through a portfolio of evidence, including practical demonstration in the real working environment.

For more information on what Trinity CME is like, and what is assessed download our brochure and specification or watch our webinar which will guide you through it.

Trinity CME brochure Trinity CME specification Trinity CME webinar Study for the Trinity CME

Become a Trinity CME Centre

To learn what your organisation needs to do to become a centre, download the validation requirements for becoming a Trinity CME centre.

Validation requirements

Support materials

In addition to the Validation requirements and Specification, you may find it useful to refer to the Level 4 descriptors and Areas of study documents provided below. The Level 4 descriptors exist to support centres familiarise themselves with the depth of study required at this level. The Areas of study is an optional alternative model of delivery to the 6 unit model outlined in the Specification.

Level 4 descriptors Areas of study

If you have any questions, please contact us at cme@trinitycollege.co.uk.


Keep in touch

Make sure you don’t miss the latest news from Trinity College London. Sign up for email updates about your subject area.

Back to top